Phoenix Preview- More Chevy Strength, Power Looks for Turn Around. Last Call for Greatest 33 Non Winner Grids

Indycar returns to one of the classic tracks, Phoenix International Raceway, this weekend. Last year’s return to Phoenix race was a joyous event to old diehard fans like me.  It was a thrill to finally get an opportunity to attend a race there in person.

The race itself was not great. The leader struggled to get past the last place car.  Ryan Hunter-Reay was able to pass a lot of cars on restarts, but up front it was a matter of wait until something happens to the leader. I hope Indycar figured out a solution to this issue during the test at Phoenix earlier this year.

Two things I think we’ll see are a change in the championship lead, and Will Power finally having a successful outing.  Power has been in position to win two of the first three races and would have won both of those going away, but an engine issue at St. Pete and a cut tire at Barber dashed his victory hopes.

This is another high downforce track, which favors Chevy. I think Power will win this season and start his march toward the season title. Look for Scott Dixon to take the points lead from Sebastien Bourdais as well.  I don’t think Bourdais is going to fade away, though. He had a better than expected run at Barber, and if he can get another top eight result, he will be in the mix for a while. He should be strong at the Indy GP, and has improved in the 500.

My pick to win is Power this week, with the other Penske cars populating the top six.

The Greatest 33 Now-Winners: Last Call for Grids

Please submit your grids by Tuesday.  I will be traveling Monday and Tuesday and will start tallying results after I get back to Indy. Thanks to all who have submitted grids so far. The top five have been remarkably consistent. After that, i’s a free for all.

It’s Almost May!

May begins Monday, and I’m planning a very busy month of posting here. I have some exciting story ideas including a feature on a former 500 winner from the 30’s.  I would love to hear any ideas you might have for a story.  I’ll do my best to get it done. I hope to see some of you Wednesday at Fernando Alonso’s test at IMS.

Leave a Reply

